Back to top


Who We Are

The Department of Communication is a national leader in the study of communication as a social science, ranked among the top five in a recent poll by the National Research Council. Our faculty and students are dedicated to understanding the role and enhancing the effectiveness of communication processes, systems, and infrastructure in society. We explore communication in its many forms and contexts as a fundamentally social phenomenon. Our faculty members are recognized for developing and applying novel theoretical perspectives to the most pressing social and policy issues of the day.  

Alumni/Undergraduate Student Connections

In January, Christopher Byrne led ten Comm students to Silicon Valley to visit alumni in various tech companies. In preparation for the trip, students took part in Christopher's SILICOMM seminar, where they researched the participating alumni and companies. Students visited Stanford University’s VR Lab, ShareThis, Mozilla, Google, Facebook, Apple, and Intel. Personnel from each company offered valuable insights into their workdays, providing students an inside understanding of their companies and industries. Thank you to the alumni who shared their time and those who funded the trip.



Faculty in the News

Subscribe to RSS news feed

Job posting for a tenure-track assistant professor!

May 24, 2021

Job posting for a tenure-track assistant professor!

Position Description and Responsibilities:
The Department of Communication at Cornell University invites applications for a 9-month, full time tenure-track faculty position in communication at the Assistant Professor level. The successful applicant will conduct research and teach courses in areas that complement the department’s leadership in the social scientific study of communication. We welcome applicants whose research supports and extends our existing strengths, which include: culture and identity; groups, organizations, and networks; media studies; policy and public engagement; science, health, risk, environment; social inequality; and/or technology and social media. The department is taking active steps to build diversity, equity, and inclusion into all facets of our work, and the colleague we hire will help us advance these efforts in our research, teaching, and engagement. Our department values multiple methods of qualitative and quantitative inquiry and embraces interdisciplinary collaboration. The position involves 50% research and 50% teaching responsibilities. Communication faculty teach five undergraduate and/or graduate courses over two academic years and advise students in the Department’s B.S. and Ph.D. programs.
The successful candidate will have a Ph.D. in Communication or a closely aligned field and show promise of developing a national and international reputation doing theory-based and empirical research. We seek innovative scholars of social science who will develop a research program connected to College and University priorities in addressing how people communicate, interact, learn, lead, and shape enterprises of all scales to improve the well-being of individuals, communities, and economies around the world.
Starting Date and Applications:
Anticipated starting date for this position is July 2022 or as negotiated. Applications are welcome and encouraged from candidates of all backgrounds, particularly from under-represented groups and identities. We have a vibrant culture that values inclusion, diversity, honor, and integrity. Qualified applicants should submit 1) a cover letter briefly summarizing background, qualifications, and interest in position, 2) a research statement outlining experience, interests, and goals, 3) a teaching statement outlining experience, interests, and goals, 4) a statement of contribution to diversity, equity, and inclusion outlining how, through research, teaching, mentoring, and/or service, the candidate has and will contribute to support of Cornell’s mission of “any person … any study,” 5) at least one writing sample (but not more than three), 6) the names and contact information of three references, 7) curriculum vitae, and  unofficial transcripts or a list of courses from the applicant’s graduate program. Official academic transcripts and letters from three references may be requested later.
Materials should be submitted online to: Applications received by August 15, 2021 will be given full consideration. The position will remain open until filled. For questions regarding the position, please contact Search Committee Chair Dr. Dawn Schrader at


Learn about the Social Media Lab's TestDrive social media literacy program

May 24, 2021

Social Media TestDrive, created by Natalie Bazarova's Social Media Lab in collaboration with Common Sense, is a national social media literacy program based on realistic and safe social media simulation to prepare young people for real online media experiences. Since its August 2019 national launch, 280K learners from all over the world have used it. Common Sense created the informational video.

Neil Lewis, Jr.

Neil Lewis, Jr. named the 2021 Junior Faculty Champion

May 13, 2021

Neil Lewis, Jr., was named the 2021 Junior Faculty Champion, one of the Graduate Diversity & Inclusion awards.

Dean Boor's comments on the new home of the Department of Communication during the Official Dedication on April 8, 2016.