Back to top

Colloquium Series

Spring 2019 Schedule

Time: 1:30pm in 102 Mann (unless otherwise noted)

September 2019

  • September 16: Second Year Project Poster Session in the Hub (4th floor of Mann Library Building)

October 2019

  • October 7: Dr. Julia Corbett, University of Utah
  • October 17: Dr. David Sherman, University of California, Santa Barbara (co-sponsored with the Roper Center; 1:30-2:45pm, 655 Rhodes Hall)

November 2019

  • November 4: Dr. Noah Feinstein, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • November 18: Dr. MC Forelle, Cornell Tech

December 2019

  • December 2: Dr. René Kizilcec, Cornell University

If you would like to be added to the Communication Colloquium Series listserve to receive reminders for these events, please send a request to Joanna.


Subscribe to RSS news feed
picture of Y. Connie Yuan

Connie Yuan receives the 2019 CALS Kathy Berggren Diversity and Inclusion Award

Mar 12, 2019

 Y. Connie Yuan is the recipient of the 2019 CALS Kathy Berggren Diversity and Inclusion Award. The award recognizes CALS faculty and academic staff who make significant contributions toward creating and fostering a positive environment for people of diverse backgrounds.

Neil Lewis, Jr. publishes paper in Perspectives on Psychological Science

Jan 22, 2019

Neil Lewis, Jr.'s newest paper, "Preparing Disadvantaged Students for Success in College: Lessons Learned From the Preparation Initiative," was just published in Perspectives on Psychological Science. The paper describes the effects of the preparation initiative academic intervention program that Neil worked with and served as Interim Director of prior to joining our faculty. Among other things, the program increased graduation rates for low-income, first-generation, and racial-ethnic minority students who participated in it by 13%.

Jon Schuldt and Connie Yuan publish op-ed in Washington Post

Jan 3, 2019

Jon Schuldt and Y. Connie Yuan published an op-ed in The Washington Post, titled "Despite what Trump says, most Americans want climate action — even if China doesn’t do its part." The piece reports on their recent nationally representative survey of the U.S. public, which finds that a strong majority of Americans–and even a slim majority of our Republican respondents–say the U.S. should act on climate change even if China doesn’t do its fair share. In fact, very few in our sample, and only 19% of Republicans, said the U.S. should act “only if China does its fair share."

Neil Lewis, Jr. named a Rising Star by the Association for Psychological Science

Jan 2, 2019

Neil Lewis, Jr. was named a Rising Star by the Association for Psychological Science. The rising star designation is presented to outstanding psychological scientists in the earliest stages of their post-PhD research careers. This designation recognizes researchers whose innovative work has already advanced the field and signals great potential for their continued contributions.

Brooke Duffy wins Affinito-Stewart research grant

Dec 7, 2018

Brooke Duffy won a 2018-2019 Affinito-Stewart research grant for her project "Invisible Labor in the Social Media Economy: Gender and Social Inequalities in an Emergent Workforce.” The program, administered by the President’s Council of Cornell Women, was established in 1990 to help the university increase the number of women in tenured faculty positions.

Jon Schuldt's article featured in Proceedings of the National Academies of Science

Dec 5, 2018

Jon Schuldt’s recent work (funded by an Atkinson Center/Environmental Defense Fund partnership grant), on the extent to which people of all racial, ethnic, and socioeconomic groups systematically underestimate the environmental concerns of minority and low-income Americans, is featured on the cover of the most recent issue of the Proceedings of the National Academies of Science. This work has already received a significant amount of favorable attention in the form of two different commentaries on the findings.